Meeting Rainbow Rowell

Yesterday I met Rainbow Rowell. Yep. I can officially say that I have met Rainbow Rowell, my favourite author. I thought It’d be fun to do a little event recap and a tiny recap of the day as a whole, just really for my benefit so that I can look back on it.

I started off the day waking up ridiculously early from excitement and getting completely dressed and ready despite having to meet my friends in a couple of hours. I packed and repacked my bag, I kept changing my outfit. I failed at taking selfies. I attempted to read but I couldn’t focus. I was meeting Rainbow Rowell later that day and that was all that was on my mind. I had never met an author before or been to any form of signing so of course I was nervous but immensely excited.

How I felt before the signing.
How I felt before the signing.

 

I then met up with my friends( after arriving late because of the bus!) and we shopped for a little bit but honestly, we were just passing time. We went into the store just to do a little book shopping but then found out that around 200 people were due to come to the signing and started freaking out slightly(well I did anyway!). What if we didn’t get good seats? We then went separate ways and ate quickly and returned to the shop, refusing to leave it. We thought that as soon as the shop closed, we’d go outside and be the first in the queue. However some people started queuing before the shop was even closed! There were only three people ahead of us in the queue anyway. We went and queued for a while. Then me and two of my friends, Ambi and Priya had to go to the other Waterstones in town. We had won a competition on the YABirmingham blog to meet Rainbow Rowell before her signing and we had to meet somebody at Waterstones to take us over. We were given two beautiful badges also; one that said ‘I’m A Rainbow Rowell Fangirl” and one with the UK landline cover. We went over to Waterstones and went in before everybody else. The minute I walked through that door, the excitement hit me. She wasn’t in the room when we went in and we waited around for a bit but the excitement kept bubbling away in me. I was minutes away from meeting my favourite author of all time. We were lead upstairs to the office and I walked in and there she sat! Rainbow Rowell was sitting there, metres away from me. I couldn’t contain my excitement and I squealed slightly. She was so nice and we talked about some things and she signed our books with messages in them, longer than the ones she normally puts in(I’ll put some images at the end). We took a picture with her plus the other winner of the competition, which I shall put at the end. We were given fangirl tote bags, even though they said we’d only get them if we bought the special edition of Fangirl but I had already pre-bought it. We then went downstairs and picked out seats while everyone else entered.We joined the rest of our friends for her talk. Instead of reading, Rainbow decided to just do a Q&A and it was amazing! She is an incredibly funny and entertaining person but she is also insightful and has interesting perspectives. It was then time for the signing and we all stood in the queue, even me and my friends who met her early because we all wanted separate pictures and a picture with all of our friends in it. We got these thankfully but that was the end of the evening.

This was basically how I felt throughout the whole event!
This was basically how I felt throughout the whole event!

We all sat around for a bit and just watched her sign some books. She ended up running over and missing her train but I heard her saying she was fine with it. I did however feel sorry for her because she had to attend LeakyCon today in Orlando so she must be extremely jetlagged. However, I would like to thank Rainbow Rowell for being so amazing and making yesterday one of the best days of my life. I’d also like to thank Waterstones New Street for holding such a fabulous event and YABirmingham for allowing us to meet her beforehand! Yesterday was honestly one of the absolute best days of my life. Now I’m going to attach some photos from the event and of my signed books.

Our picture with her when we met her beforehand!
Our picture with her when we met her beforehand!
The packed audience at the signing last night!
The packed audience at the signing last night!
My picture with her!
My picture with her!
The signing of Attachments.
The signing of Attachments.
Rainbow Rowell during her talk.
Rainbow Rowell during her talk.
Signing of Eleanor and Park
Signing of Eleanor and Park
Signing my other copy of Eleanor and Park
Signing my other copy of Eleanor and Park
Signing of Fangirl
Signing of Fangirl
Signing my other copy of Fangirl
Signing my other copy of Fangirl
Our group picture with Rainbow Rowell
Our group picture with Rainbow Rowell
Signing of Landline
Signing of Landline

 

At the end of the day, I felt a sense of accomplishment. I had lasted through a day of meeting my favourite author and it was fabulous! I can’t wait for anymore events and the one at the moment that I’m most excited for is Alice Oseman’s launch party on Thursday. I shall be hopefully writing a post about that event as well so look out for that soon. I’ll see you soon with another post.

The sense of victory I felt at the end of the day is well and truly depicted in this gif.
The sense of victory I felt at the end of the day is well and truly depicted in this gif.

 

Sofia

4 thoughts on “Meeting Rainbow Rowell

Leave a Reply

