Bookish Academy Awards Tag

Hey! Today I thought I’d do another tag that I found on YouTube which is the bookish academy awards tag. This tag was created by Kayla over at Bookadoodles and you should all go check out her videos because she’s amazing. The concept of this tag is simple. It takes the academy awards and alters the categories to suit books. You are meant to do it only based on a year of reading so I thought I’d do it based on the books I read in 2013. Let’s get started!

Best Actor: (Best Male Protagonist)

This would have to go to Percy Jackson. I read House of Hades so I can rightfully hand this award over to him because he is just so funny and witty. He is also strong and fights amazingly for those he loves. This shows a lot in House of Hades when we see him go through all kinds of hell with Annabeth. He protects her amazingly.

Honourable Mention: Perry from Under the Never Sky

Best Actress:(Best Female Protagonist)

This would most definitely go to Celaena Sardothien from Throne of Glass. Celaena is strong and an incredibly kick ass character. I love reading from her perspective and I can’t wait to read more of her perspective in Heir of Fire.

Honourable Mention: Rose Hathaway from Vampire Academy

Best Cinematography:(Best Plot Twist)

This one would have to go to The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin. Honestly both of these books could have won this but the first one just won it for me because that ending was just mind blowing and unpredictable!  I cannot wait for The Retribution of Mara Dyer because I know that it will mess with my mind almost as much, if not more, than the other two did.

Honourable Mention: Vampire Academy series by Richelle Mead

Best Costume Design:(Best Book Cover)

I have to give this award to Crown of Midnight( I would have given this to The Assassin’s Blade but I’m only doing 2013 books). I love the covers of the whole series but Crown of Midnight just won slightly because I prefer this cover just slightly because of the colours. I prefer the UK covers of these books just because of the contrast between the colours on the front and the ones on the back so that is why it wins.

Honourable Mention: Mara Dyer covers by Michelle Hodkin

Best Supporting Actress and Actor: (Best Male and Female Sidekick)

For best male sidekick I give the award to Simon Lewis from the Mortal Instruments because I absolutely adore Simon. He is one of my favourite fictional characters of all time(check out my top fictional crushes list) because I think he is just funny and nerdy yet still so helpful and badass. He really improves a lot as the series goes on. For female sidekick that will have to go to Isabelle Lightwood from the same series because she also incredibly badass and just all round fabulous.

Honourable Mentions: Kenji from Shatter Me, Nehemia from Throne of Glass

Best Original Screenplay: (Most Unique Plot/World)

For most unique world that will have to go to Delirium by Lauren Oliver. Delirium has such a unique world that I think is so fascinating. I actually wrote a whole post on it so click here to read it.

Honourable Mention: Throne of Glass by Sarah J.Maas

Best Adapted Screenplay: (Best Book-to-Movie Adaptation)

This one has to go to the obvious one that everyone is probably saying which is Catching Fire. This movie was absolutely stunning and such a perfect adaptation. I didn’t realise you could get an adaptation so right until I saw this one. Honestly, this movie was amazing and just breath taking.

Honourable Mention: The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug

Best Animated Feature:(A book that would work well in animated format)

I give this award to the Legend trilogy as a whole but because this is 2013 books it goes to Champion and Prodigy by Marie Lu as I read both of them last year. This series would just be amazing as an anime, I believe. I don’t watch anime but if this was one, I’d watch it!

Honourable Mention: House of Hades by Rick Riordan.

Best Director:(A writer you discovered for the first time)

This award goes to my favourite author of all time: Rainbow Rowell. I read her first three books for the first time last year and I fell in love. Honestly all her books are amazing and I just can’t recommend them enough. If you’re interested check out my review of Fangirl, my friend Ambi’s review of Eleanor and Park and my review of Landline. Seriously, go pick up one of her books now. Stop everything you’re doing and read one of her books because they will change your life completely.

Honourable Mentions: Tahereh Mafi, Michelle Hodkin, Sarah J.Maas

Best Visual Effects:(Best Action in a Book)

This has to go to  the Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas. Celaena is an assassin so of course, there is a lot of fighting and a lot of action. I loved reading about the action in this book because it was incredibly detailed and I felt like I was actually seeing it on a TV.

Honourable Mention: Prodigy by Marie Lu

Best Musical Score:(Best Music in a book-to-movie adaptation)

I listen to a lot of film scores but the winner for a 2013 book-t0-movie adaptation has to go to Catching Fire. The score in this movie was so hauntingly beautiful and it fit in well. It didn’t distract from the movie but you did notice it was playing because it made the scenes more real.

Honourable Mention: The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug

Best Short Film:(Best Novella or Short Book)

I have to give this to Destroy Me by Tahereh Mafi. Anyone who knows me well, will know I love Warner a lot so of course this novella was perfection in my eyes. I loved seeing inside of his head and seeing a different perspective to the story. I definitely recommend you read this before reading Unravel Me because you will love the books a lot more if you do.

Honourable Mention: The Prince by Kiera Cass

Best Picture: (Best Stand-Alone)

This has to go to my favourite book of all time, Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. It’s no surprise that I absolutely adore this book for many reasons that  I won’t go into now. If you want to know more about why I love it so much, click here to go read my review.

Honourable mention: Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell

Best Documentary: (Best Historical Fiction or Non-Fiction)

I don’t read many historical fiction or even non-fiction books so this award will have to go to  the one historical fiction I have read, The White Queen by Phillipa Gregory. I read this in anticipation for the BBC TV series and even though it took me over two weeks, I loved this book.

Honourable Mention: Life and Laughing by Michael McIntyre

This was a fun tag so I tag my friends Priya, Makayla, Veena and Ambi. I’m interested to see your responses. Thanks for reading and see you soon with another post.

Sofia

 

2 thoughts on “Bookish Academy Awards Tag

Leave a Reply

