Breathe, Annie, Breathe by Miranda Kenneally

After finishing A Grimm Warning, I wanted to read just a cute romance novel that I could fly through quickly so I picked up Breathe, Annie, Breathe, the latest installment in the Hundred Oaks series. This is a series of  YA romance novels that generally have a sporty aspect to them. This series is a set of companion novels which means that each book centers around different people but people from the previous novels are involved in the books. This one was probably my favourite out of the series so far. If you are interested in knowing what it is about, here is the blurb:

Annie hates running. No matter how far she jogs, she can’t escape the guilt that if she hadn’t broken up with Kyle, he might still be alive. So to honor his memory, she starts preparing for the marathon he intended to race.

But the training is even more grueling than Annie could have imagined. Despite her coaching, she’s at war with her body, her mind—and her heart. With every mile that athletic Jeremiah cheers her on, she grows more conflicted. She wants to run into his arms…and sprint in the opposite direction. For Annie, opening up to love again may be even more of a challenge than crossing the finish line.

This book focused a lot on grief and moving on after someone you love has passed away. Annie feels incredibly guilty and takes up running in order to ease her guilt. Since she is training to run a marathon, she has a lot of alone time which means we as the reader spend a lot of time in Annie’s head when she is alone. This allows us to understand her a lot more. I think Annie is probably my favourite so far of the Hundred Oaks girls just because I feel like she didn’t let a guy take over her life and mind as some of the others did. For most of the book she struggled with moving on and accepting being with someone else since Kyle had died and I liked this aspect. Usually in books, the girl moves on quite quickly from one boy to the next and I liked the fact that Annie couldn’t just move on.

Jeremiah is also probably my favourite of the Hundred Oaks boys(even though he doesn’t actually go to Hundred Oaks). I feel like he’s tied with Henry because I really liked Henry. He was understanding and he helped her a lot when she was trying to deal with her own problems. He was very comforting. I didn’t understand his adrenaline junkie thing but as we got further into the book and he explained why, it made a bit more sense.He was quite sweet.

The plot was simplistic, simply because it was just a YA romance novel. YA romance novels generally followed a trend and this one did but I don’t mind. I enjoy the trend because it’s comforting in some way to me. I ended up giving this book 4 out of 5 stars. I really enjoyed it and I recommend this series to anyone that likes YA romance novels because they are quite enjoyable. I liked this one more because the sport was running but Annie herself wasn’t a runner so I wasn’t lost by a lot of terminology as I sometimes was in the others. Thank you for  reading and I’ll see you soon with another post.

Sofia

P.S The lack of gifs in this review is because I couldn’t find a review that showed off how I felt about this book.

One thought on “Breathe, Annie, Breathe by Miranda Kenneally

Leave a Reply

