My Top Ten Favourite TV Shows

Today, I thought I’d make a post about my top ten favourite TV shows. If you’ve read most of my posts you will already know what some of my favourites are, especially my top favourite show but I thought I’d make a post anyway because some of these shows I’ve never mentioned on this blog. If you’re interested, check out my top 10 TV couples list. This is going to be in descending order starting from number 10. Let’s get started.

10.Revenge:

I used to be a massive fan of this show during season 1 but recently it has gotten quite boring and repetitive at times but I still love it. If you’ve never heard of this show it is about a girl called Amanda Clarke who’s father was framed for a terrorist attack and murdered when she was younger. She has grown up and has now changed her name to Emily Thorne. She’s come back to the Hamptons to get revenge on the family that framed her father, the Graysons. What I love about this show is that Emily is a very strong female character. She knows her mission and she is focused on it. Sometimes she may get distracted but she is always thinking of her goal. I also love the side characters as well especially Nolan. Nolan is her sidekick in the show and he is quite a technological genius. This show is a great drama and it is constantly suprising you.I also love that Emily has such great sayings in the show that really make you think. At the start of the episode, she’ll do a voice over and say something that is related to the theme and title of the episode.

tookfromme

9.The Big Bang Theory:

This is the show that I like to watch to cheer myself up. If you’ve never heard of this show, which I highly doubt, it’s about 4 scientists who are all friends and Penny, a normal pretty girl, moves opposite 2 of them and they all become friends. It’s a great show to just watch whenever it’s on. You don’t have to watch every episode, and you don’t have to watch them in order but I do. I love this show because you learn things about science while watching it. If it wasn’t for Sheldon, this show wouldn’t be half as funny as it is. He is ridiculously amusing. The others are funny but not quite as much as Sheldon.

suck-different-levels

8.How I Met Your Mother:

This used to be up there near the top of the list but after the finale, I had to bring it down the list. This show is about Ted who is telling his kids the story about how he met their mother but really it’s a show about a group of 5 friends and their journey through adulthood. I love watching this show for the same reason as to why I love watching TBBT, it’s ridiculously funny and it keeps me entertained. However, if you follow this show in order you will love it a lot more because there are a lot of running jokes. This show is just always on in the UK as is TBBT so I watch at least one episode a day. I’m just going to pretend that finale didn’t happen.

self-five

7.Teen Wolf:

Now this show has been getting a lot of hype recently. I got into this show during season 2 and it was much less known then. But recently everyone is watching it and talking about it and I’m slightly sick of it. I love this show but honestly a lot of people I don’t like are now watching it and are obsessing over Dylan O’Brien and Daniel Sharman and I’m sitting here like BACK OFF PEOPLE! Now if for some reason you’ve been living under a rock and you don’t know what this show is about, it is simply about a teenage boy, Scott, after he gets bitten and turned into a werewolf. It’s a great show with a lot of humour. Season 1 and 2 are so ridiculous but I love them. Season 3 was incredibly dramatic and so far season 4 is a mix of them both. Stiles’ is one of my favourite fictional characters of all time. He is just so funny and I love him.

dancing-dylan

6.Nikita:

I made a whole post about this show so I won’t be talking much about it but click here if you want to know more. I binge watched this whole show over the February half term(which is a week long) and I got slightly addicted. I mean 3 seasons in 5 days. This show follows our main character called Nikita who was trained by a secret government group called Division to be an assassin for them but has now gone rogue and she wants to take them down. This show is action packed and I absolutely love it. I’m sad that it’s over but I shall always and forever love it. Plus it had Shane West in who I absolutely love.

you-die-I-die

5.Sherlock:

Almost everybody in the world is as in love with Sherlock as me.  I started watching Sherlock in 2012 and I had the agonising wait for season 3 along with the rest of the world. Sherlock is a show about Sherlock Holmes but it is set in modern day London. As of now there is only 3 series, 3 episodes in each. It may not sound like much but each episode is an hour and a half long. There is a wait of 2 years between each season because Benedict Cumberbatch and Martin Freeman are incredibly busy people. I love this show because it is so clever and it is so hard to guess what will happen. I don’t love it nearly as much as Rainbow Rowell does but I still love it.

tumblr_inline_n8lei1MK4B1ssxhd2

4.New Girl:

I absolutely adore New Girl. New Girl is again one of those shows that I just watch to cheer myself up. If you don’t know what it’s about, it is about a girl called Jessica Day who after a terrible break-up moves in with three bachelors who all have issues of their own. I love watching all the characters interact especially Nick and Jess. Jess is one of my favourite female TV characters and I absolutely adore the way she dresses. All of them is absolutely hilarious and it’s hard to just choose one favourite character out of them because they are all so amazing. I strongly suggest you binge watch this show because it is absolutely hilarious.

Zooey-Deschanel-Victory-In-a-Bath-Robe-On-New-Girl-Gif

3.Gossip Girl:

I watched this show last year unexpectedly and I didn’t expect to love it as much as I did. This show follows a bunch of stuck up rich kids in the Upper East Side. There is a site called Gossip Girl which knows everything about them and it causes a lot of problems for them. I absolutely adore this show. It’s addictive, funny and just down right entertaining. I love watching all of them in their lives and go through problems that normal people wouldn’t normally go through. I love Chuck and he is just one of my favourite fictional TV characters of all time. Chuck and Blair are my ultimate TV fictional couple and I’m absolutely in love with them as a couple.

tumblr_mheqk0PXj21s3jke0o1_500

2.Merlin:

Most people who know me in real life will think that this show is my absolute favourite because while the last ever series was airing, I was constantly raving about it. Literally at least once a week there would be a Merlin related facebook post on my wall. I do very much love this show but one show just narrowly beats this one out. Merlin is another one of BBC’s period dramas. It’s about a young Prince Arthur growing up to be the king we know him to become along with his servant Merlin. This show is so ridiculously funny during the first 3 series but during series 4, the show takes a turn for the dark and emotional side. The last series was incredibly depressing and I needed a lot of chocolate during the episodes in order to drown my tears. I absolutely adore this show a lot and I’m very sad that it’s over.

merthur

1.Friends:

If you have seen my Friends post, you will already know that this is my favourite show of all time. I’m not going to talk much about why I love it because I did make a whole other post on it, so click here to see it. This show is simply about a group of 6 friends living in New York going through life. I absolutely adore this show for many reasons but the main reason is because it will always cheer me up and make me laugh. I always have a smile on my face while watching it and even though I’ve seen every episode numerous times, I still laugh out loud at some of the jokes. If you haven’t seen this show, I strongly suggest you go watch it because it is absolutely fabulous.

friends-gif

 

That’s all for my very long post about my favourite TV shows. I hope you enjoyed it and got some new TV recommendations from it. I’ll see you soon with another post.

Sofia

3 thoughts on “My Top Ten Favourite TV Shows

  1. I completely felt the same way as you about How I Met Your Mother finale when it aired here in the US a few months ago. But even though I much preferred the mother to Robin by the end, I was determined to make peace with how it ended, because I couldn’t possibly hate the ending of my favorite show. So after a couple months of thinking and re-watching, I found new meaning in a lot of the finale. I wrote a fairly lengthy piece about it all here – http://wildamericangooner.com/2014/07/01/making-peace-with-how-i-met-your-mother/ – and I shared it with the creator of the show, Craig Thomas, and with lead actor Josh Radnor. Both of them gave me positive reviews, despite my expressed dislike for the ending. I would suggest giving it a read, as I think it might cause you to see everything a little differently.

    Like

    1. That is an interesting take on it! I am actually warming to the ending. I think it was just the initial shock of what happened that made me dislike it so much. I think over time I will end up appreciating the ending.

      Like

      1. I don’t know if I will appreciate it so much as learn to accept it for what it is. I’ve seen people come to terms with the finale with suggestions that Robin was always the one for Ted and I think that’s totally wrong. The mother was the one. But the message I’d allow is that there might be more than one “the one.” I will always prefer the mother to Robin, but I think I can be okay with things now.

        Like

Leave a Reply

