A Grimm Warning by Chris Colfer

Earlier today, I finished A Grimm Warning  after waiting months to read it and I had a lot of feels about it so I thought I’d attempt a review. A Grimm Warning is the third book in the Land of Stories series written by Mr Chris Colfer a.k.a Kurt Hummel in Glee. I must admit the reason I started this series was because I am a big Chris Colfer fan(despite not really liking Glee anymore) and because I had read his other book, Struck by Lightning. If you’ve never heard of the Land of Stories, it’s a great children’s book series. For those of you who are interested here is the summary of the first book:

The Land of Stories tells tells the tale of twins Alex and Conner. Through the mysterious powers of a cherished book of stories, they leave their world behind and find themselves in a foreign land full of wonder and magic where they come face-to-face with the fairy tale characters they grew up reading about.

It’s a very short summary but it is just about what it says. It’s about two twins who find themselves in a universe where all of the fairy tale characters live. After reading the first book, I discovered that Chris Colfer is absolutely fabulous. He sings amazingly, acts stunningly and writes beautifully. This series is honestly so amazing and it makes me feel like I’m a little child again. Since I never really read any fairy tales growing up, reading this series sparked my love for fairy tales hence why I am currently reading the Grimm fairy stories, one by one. Now onto A Grimm Warning. This was a fabulous third book in a series and as soon as I got into it, I couldn’t stop reading. I have never attempted to write a review of the Land of Stories books before and that is simply because there is so much to talk about and it’s basically impossible to do it without spoiling anything but I’m going to attempt it anyway.

Alex and Conner were amazing as always. I love the fact that they have grown up throughout the three books and I can only see them growing up throughout the future books. I feel like this series will become like Percy Jackson or Harry Potter. Many children will grow up along side these characters. In this book, Alex and Conner are 13 turning on 14 and I loved seeing them face teenage issues as well having to deal with saving the world yet again. In the previous books, it had been very much focused on them two doing everything together yet in this book they spent time trying to do things separately. As much as I missed, seeing them together saving the world, it was nice to see them growing up and not having to rely on each other all the time.

The plot of this book was so interesting. I won’t tell you what it’s about because it would mean giving spoilers for the other books but the plot line of this one has been my favourite of the series so far. It meant seeing the two worlds, our world and the fairy world and that made it interesting. Previously, we had only really stayed in the fairy world for the duration of the book but it was interesting to see both. The plot made it fast paced and easy to read despite it being over 400 pages long. It was quite action- packed and I just wanted to know what happened next and how they would fix everything.

The side characters in this novel were so intriguing as well, including the new ones. This series has so many characters that it’s easy to forget people but once you remember who they are it makes it so much more intriguing. Red was funny as always and Froggy was amazing too. There were too many characters to mention. Some of the new ones e.g. Rook were always quite interesting but I still didn’t like them as much as the others.

The ending of this book was mind-blowing! It ended on such a cliffhanger and it left me wanting more! I probably have to wait over a year for the next book and that annoys me. I need to know what happens and how it can be! I have so many theories and I just want to know which one is true if any of them are. I had predicted the big mystery by the end but still when it was actually revealed to be true, I was like WOAH!

My reaction to the ending
My reaction to the ending
When that person turned out to be the person I expected it to be, this was my reaction.
When that person turned out to be the person I expected it to be, this was my reaction.

I, of course, gave this book 5 out of 5 stars. Mr Chris Colfer, you are a talented author and I applaud you on your ability to write such amazing books. I can’t wait for the rest of the series. It has also come to my attention that a film of the Land of Stories may be in store so I’m very excited for that! Thank you for reading and definitely go check this series out if you haven’t already. See you soon with another post.

Sofia

One thought on “A Grimm Warning by Chris Colfer

Leave a Reply

