On The Fence by Kasie West

Hey. So yesterday after finishing Just One Day by Gayle Forman(which will not be getting it’s own review because I didn’t enjoy this and I found it boring but I’ll talk about that in my July wrap up) I sat down and started reading On the Fence by Kasie West, which just came out at the beginning of July. I read it all in one sitting which isn’t something I usually do. I didn’t love this book just because it is just another fun fluffy contemporary read(which I love) so it didn’t make me think. If you don’t know what this book is about here’s the synopsis for you:

She’s a tomboy. He’s the boy next door..

Charlie Reynolds can outrun, outscore, and outwit every boy she knows. But when it comes to being a girl, Charlie doesn’t know the first thing about anything. So when she starts working at a chichi boutique to pay off a speeding ticket, she finds herself in a strange world. To cope with the stress of her new reality, Charlie takes to spending nights chatting with her neighbor Braden through the fence between their yards. As she grows to depend on their nightly Fence Chats, she realizes she’s got a bigger problem than speeding tickets- she’s falling for Braden. She knows what it means to go for the win, but if spilling her secret means losing him for good, the stakes just got too high.

Now I went into this book not knowing what it’s about but only knowing that it was a cute contemporary and that Kasie West had written it. I do really enjoy Kasie West’s writing and I’m excited for more books by her hopefully. As soon as Braden was introduced, I knew that he was the love interest. The whole book was generally predictable with her becoming girly and catching another guy’s interest making the other guy feel jealous but I still really enjoyed this book.

Charlie herself was quite interesting. She did remind me a lot of Jordan from Catching Jordan. I am not very sporty so it was intriguing to read in the perspective of a sporty girl. Charlie had a very intriguing family. She has three brothers and a dad but her mum passed away and this made it interesting to see how her family react to her becoming girly. I did really enjoy the aspect of this book about the mother because I was intrigued to find out what happened and how this affected Charlie. Braden himself was another charming love interest. I didn’t fall in love with him but I did really like him.

I’m not really sure what else to say about this book because it was just a cute fun contemporary. I love reading fun romances but I can never write a review for them because I don’t have much to say about them. I gave this book 4 out of 5 stars because I did really enjoy it, a lot more compared to her other contemporary The Distance Between Us. I do recommend this book if you enjoy fun romances. Thank you for reading and see you soon with another post, hopefully another review but slightly longer.

Sofia

One thought on “On The Fence by Kasie West

Leave a Reply

