Landline by Rainbow Rowell

Hey! So Landline came out in the UK on Thursday and I was told that I’d have to wait until next week for Amazon to deliver it but it came! On the day as well! I, of course, wanted to read it on the day but alas I was busy but I ended up reading most of it yesterday and finishing all of it today and I’m in love with it. If you don’t know what Landline is, it is Rainbow Rowell’s new adult book so of course I was excited because Rainbow Rowell! Here’s the synopsis of it if you haven’t heard of it:

Georgie McCool knows her marriage is in trouble. That it’s been in trouble for a long time. She still loves her husband, Neal, and Neal still loves her, deeply — but that almost seems besides the point now.

Maybe that was always besides the point.

Two days before they’re supposed to visit Neal’s family in Omaha for Christmas, Georgie tells Neal that she can’t go. She’s a TV writer, and something’s come up on her show; she has to stay in Los Angeles. She knows that Neal will be upset with her — Neal is always a little upset with Georgie — but she doesn’t expect to him to pack up the kids and go home without her.

When her husband and the kids leave for the airport, Georgie wonders if she’s finally done it. If she’s ruined everything.

That night, Georgie discovers a way to communicate with Neal in the past. It’s not time travel, not exactly, but she feels like she’s been given an opportunity to fix her marriage before it starts . . .

Is that what she’s supposed to do?

Or would Georgie and Neal be better off if their marriage never happened?

Now if you’re interested in listening to the audiobook rather than reading the book, here is a chapter samplar for you courtesy of Macmillan Audio. Thank you very much for this audio sample.

This book was absolutely fabulous and I, of course, gave it 5 out of 5 stars. If you haven’t read it, I strongly suggest you do. And if you haven’t read a Rainbow Rowell novel, what are you doing with your life? I’m not sure where this goes on my ranking of Rainbow Rowell novels but it’s definitely below Fangirl and Eleanor and Park but I’m not sure if I prefer Landline or Attachments. At the moment, I prefer Landline but I think that’s because I just finished it. Now I’m going to jump into my spoilery review so if you haven’t read it, go read it and then come back.

This book, guys. Did you love it as much as I did? Because I absolutely loved it! The plot was so intriguing with the time travelling telephone but I wish we had more of an explanation for why it happened because I want to know how that managed to happen because I want one!

Georgie was such a cool character. I mean it’s in her name, Georgie McCool. She was realistic, which is Rainbow Rowell’s specialty because she always writes characters that are realistic and not perfect. She had a lot of issues, especially with her marriage and the way she acted towards her family. She wasn’t a very family based person since Neal was always the one taking care of the children but she cared deeply for them. I didn’t agree with her all the time and sometimes I found myself on Neal’s side of the argument but I loved the fact that I didn’t always agree with her because no one makes perfect decisions all the time. I loved how she loved her work and she had her dreams planned out but I wish we saw more of the writing of the sitcom and more of her at her job, but I know why we didn’t see more of it. She was going through a crisis and she focused more on her issues than the big deal she’s got with her TV show and I understand that.

Neal was a very peculiar character. I found myself jumping back and forth between liking him and hating him. I think quite a lot of people will be like this because he was very reserved and unusual with the way that he acted. He did however have some redeemable qualities. He’s a family person. He loves his family a lot and he will do everything for them. He is constantly taking care of his kids and I love the fact that he sacrificed his job so that he could take care of them. And he obviously absolutely loved Georgie and I loved that. Their marriage was nowhere near perfect but they loved each other a lot and this gave me hope. In a lot of books I read, it ends before they get married and that always slightly irritated me. What happens after? Do Cath and Levi have an absolutely perfect marriage? What about Anna and Etienne? Lola and Cricket? I don’t think it’s possible to have an absolutely perfect marriage and I loved the fact that this book showed that. This book gave me the hope that even if you go through issues in a marriage, if you truly love each other it will work out.

All the side characters were amazing, especially Seth. Oh Seth. I fell in love with him and I just wanted more of him. Him and Georgie were amazing together and I found myself silently hoping that Seth and Georgie would get together. When he told her, I was like you’re a bit too late mister! I think if he had told her earlier, during college maybe they could have been together. However I think even though they were slightly perfect for each other, they were better off being best friends because they were so similar. They were ridiculously similar and I think that there should be some sort of difference between you and your partner. I wish we had seen more of Seth and found out about what happened to him after. He had to have moved on at one point but I wanted more of him! In fact, I want a whole book about him! Her family were amazing and I loved Heather. She was the perfect younger sister. Her mother was slightly weird but I also loved her. Alice and Noomi were wonderful. EVERYONE IN THIS BOOK WAS PERFECT!

I only have a small complaint about this book. I WANT MORE OF IT. The ending was perfect and beautiful and I loved it but what happened after? Did they move to Omaha? What happened with the TV deal? What happened with Seth? What happened with Heather? What happened with the puppies? ALL THE QUESTIONS. I want more of this book and I really can’t believe it’s over. I need another Rainbow Rowell book to look forward to. 50000000000 out of 5 stars I loved it and after writing this review, I’ve decided on my ranking of her books:

1. Fangirl(Obviously)

2. Eleanor and Park

3. Landline

4. Attachments

I didn’t fall in love with the characters in Attachments nearly as much as I did in Landline. However, I love all of her books and I recommend them all. Thanks for reading and see you soon.

Sofia

P.S. If you’re interested, click here for my Fangirl review.

10 thoughts on “Landline by Rainbow Rowell

  1. Having only read Eleanor & Park — and liking it a lot — when I heard Landline was Rowell’s new book, I couldn’t wait. I loved the idea of communicating through the phone; it’s different, and what attracted me to it. Your review has only reminded me it’s been released now, and has made me add it to my Amazon basket, so thank you! Great review.

    Like

    1. Thank you! I loved this book and Eleanor and Park was also so beautiful! You should definitely check out her other two novels because they are also fabulous. I hope you enjoy Landline as much as I did but I can already predict that you probably will. 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

