Q&A with Sophie Davis

Hey! Recently, I read the whole of the Talented saga by Sophie Davis in less than a week and let’s just say I got a little obsessed. Sophie Davis had sent me a copy of Talented for review(click here for my review) and then I automatically went and got the rest of my kindle and read them all. I then emailed Sophie and told her that I loved her books and that I was interested in doing a short Q&A with her for the blog. Surprisingly, she agreed! Now I had to think of some questions but since I had never done this before, I ended up coming up with the generic questions but honestly, I was interested in her responses to the questions. I’m not a very creative and original person so I had to go with the generic questions. I loved Talented very much but you can’t buy a physical copy within the UK. However if you have a kindle or a device to read kindle books on, Talented is free! Definitely go check it out. If you don’t know what it’s about here’s the goodreads summary for you:

Block it out. Impossible for Talia Lyons. When you’re a Mind Manipulator, it’s hard enough to block the thoughts of others, let alone your own.

Block it out. The pounding, siren-ready world Talia inhabits as she trains with her fellow Hunters, the country’s top-secret covert operatives. The physical demands. The emotional toll.

Block it out. The secrets that Talia’s boyfriend is hiding. Talia’s unbidden feelings of frustration and annoyance toward her teammate, the Casanova of the compound. The wondering why she cares what he thinks.

Block him out. Ian Crane. The man behind the bloodshed marring Talia’s memories of her murdered parents. The man she’s determined to kill.

Block it all out. Focus.

Talented is an emotionally raw Dystopian Romance, about the life of a girl with extraordinary psychic powers, and what happens when a heart is torn between love and rage.

So without any more waffling from me, I present to you my very short Q&A with Sophie Davis, the author of the Talented saga.

What was your inspiration to get into writing?

 Hmmm, well, let’s see.  I have been making up stories in my head for as long as I can remember.  I used to be an avid runner, and would pass the time on long runs by telling myself stories.  Each run, I’d pick up the story where I left off the last time.  Sometimes I’d start the story over, sort of revising as I went.  But I didn’t actually try to write one of my stories down until I met a work friend who is really into writing.  I started reading her stories and providing feedback, which gave me the idea to give writing a try.  There were a lot of false starts, but eventually, Talented, was finished.

 Any tips for aspiring authors?

 Write every chance you get.  Just like with anything else, the more you practice, the better you will become.

 How did you get the ideas for this unique world?

 The idea for the Talented world came while I was studying for the bar exam just after law school.  I was staying with my parents in the boonies and the only non-studying time I had was during my runs.  I was so overwhelmed that I started to think how much better life would be if I could just read the minds of the smarter students around me.  It all sort of snowballed from there.  By the end of that summer I had the overall storyline for Talented Saga mapped out.  It would take me another three years to actually write the first draft.

Your book centers around people with Talents and they are basically like superheroes. Do you have a favourite superhero?

Favorite superhero….that’s a hard one.  Do the Incredibles count?  I LOVE that movie.

 Do your characters reflect a bit of you in them? Are you more like Erik or Talia or any of your other characters?

 A little bit.  Talia physically resembles me in some aspects.  I, too, am pretty short and have brown hair that I sometimes wear curly.  When I was a teenager, I was a lot like Talia in the act-first-ask-questions-later respect.

 What is your favourite part about being a writer?

 The work wardrobe.  I live in pajamas and yoga pants!

 Do you have a specific area where you love to write?

 I have a large desktop computer where I do most of my writing.  But I do love sitting outside to write.  It helps me block out distractions like my dogs, the overflowing hamper of dirty laundry, and the dishwasher that needs to be emptied.

 Your Talented series contains a lot of romantic scenes, are these easy or difficult to write?

 The romantic scenes are usually pretty easy to write, but extremely hard to revise/edit.  It’s sort of strange reading back through those scenes to make sure they aren’t too steamy or too boring but just the right amount.

 Your book also contains a lot of violence, do you prefer to write violence scenes or romantic scenes?

 It depends what type of mood I’m in.  The fighting scenes are usually easier to come up with since I think a lot about them while I run, when my adrenaline is going.  Both the fighting and the romance scenes are fun to write, though, since they are the most interesting to read.

What is your favourite YA book?

 My favorite YA book is the Parable of the Sower by Octavia Butler.

And finally, for a little bit of fun, who would you marry, who would you kiss and who would you throw off of a cliff: Erik, Donavon or Henri?

I’d definitely marry Erik, kiss Henri, and throw Donavon off of a cliff .

 

Thank you all for reading and thank you to Sophie Davis for agreeing to do this Q&A for my blog! Make sure you all go check out Talented because it is absolutely fabulous. See you guys soon with another post.

Sofia

 

One thought on “Q&A with Sophie Davis

Leave a Reply

