Solitaire by Alice Oseman

Hey. Last week the lovely people over at HarperCollins were nice enough to send me a proof copy of Solitaire by Alice Oseman and I was so excited! Ever since reading YABirmingham’s review of it, I have wanted to read this book and I was so glad that they sent it to me. I started the book Monday night and by Tuesday night I was finished because it was just so good. This book comes out the 31st July and I really think you guys should get it when it comes out because it is one of my new favourites. If you don’t know what the book is about, here’s the blurb:

In case you’re wondering, this is not a love story.

My name is Tori Spring. I like to sleep and I like to blog. Last year – before all that stuff with Charlie and before I had to face the harsh realities of A-Levels and university applications and the fact that one day I really will have to start talking to people – I had friends. Things were very different, I guess, but that’s all over now.

Now there’s Solitaire. And Michael Holden.

I don’t know what Solitaire are trying to do, and I don’t care about Michael Holden.

I really don’t.

So, as I have nothing at all to say that is bad about this book here is my review in the form of a list as to why you should most definitely be looking forward to this book:

  • The protagonist, Tori Springs is so relatable. I say this about a lot of female protagonists but Tori is definitely the second most relatable character I’ve come across, behind Cath from Fangirl of course. Tori is a pessmist and she generally hates everyone. Honestly, I dislike quite a lot of girls in my school but I don’t openly say it like some others. Tori also has a blog where she can be her true self and apparently I also have a blog. Also since Alice Oseman is British, she has written a book set in Britain and it’s so weird to see terms I recognize in it. Tori goes to a grammar school and I, coincidentally, also go to a grammar school! The way she talked about how the school is like just reminded me so much of my own school and it was shocking. Alice Oseman also includes school terms that I am used to hearing in school, such has C2 and PEE paragraphs(those things will be the death of me). This made the book very relatable for me because I knew what Tori was talking about.
  • There is a mystery element to the book. Throughout the whole book you are trying to guess who is behind this mysterious ‘Solitaire’ and what they are doing exactly. Even though, I guessed who was behind it pretty early on, I still loved this aspect because even though I thought I was pretty certain, I was still second guessing myself.
  • There is a large amount of fandom references. The first chapter has an argument about Drarry and Snily which I loved since I am a Drarry shipper myself! There are references to other fandoms and other ships such as Johnlock, Merthur and Klaine. As I am part of all of these fandoms, I loved this part of the book because it meant that I knew what they were talking about! Usually in books, when they discuss things, they are discussing TV shows I haven’t watched or books I haven’t read so I’m always confused but in this one I understood most of them(except when they talked about Pride and Prejudice.)
  • This book is not focused on romance. This book focuses on Tori and her growth as a person. You see her interact with other people and struggle to make friends but it is not focused on romance. The book mainly is just about Tori having to open herself up to people and to discover how being friends with someone works and I loved that.
  • All the side characters are absolutely fabulous. Becky, Charlie, Michael, Nick and Lucas especially. They all have their own little stories and problems but these aren’t just side plots. They are developed well, even though we are reading from Tori’s perspective. My favourites were definitely Charlie and Michael. Charlie’s story had me gripped and I found myself obsessing over him and how strong he is. Michael was a great character because he was different. He was a bit wacky and crazy but I loved him because of that.

I honestly can’t recommend this book enough. It was one of my new favourites of the year and one of my new favourites of all time! This book is out on the 31st July and Alice Oseman is actually holding her launch party for this book in Birmingham and I’m so excited to go. It’s going to be amazing, so if you live near Birmingham click here for more details about it.  I strongly suggest that you all go get this book when it comes out because I can already predict that this book is going to be huge! Thank you to Alice Oseman and HarperCollins for sending this book to me!

Also check out Alice’s blog and Alice’s twitter.

Thank you for reading and GO PREORDER THIS BOOK!

Sofia.

P.S. I forgot to mention that I obviously gave this book 5 out of 5 stars. It’s a bit obvious I did but I didn’t technically say that I did so here is me saying that I did.

 

7 thoughts on “Solitaire by Alice Oseman

Leave a Reply

