YABirmingham’s John Green Fanparty

Hey! I’m at home, recovering from my amazing and fabulous weekend that I spent with all my awesome friends. We all slept over at one friend’s house after a very amazing Saturday night. I’m not going to talk about my time with my friends but instead I’m going to talk in detail about Saturday night.

First, after meeting one of my old friends, I went down to Waterstones to meet up with my friends: Veena, Priya, Ambi, Makayla, Asmaa and Hadia. We were just hanging out in there before going to eat when Priya and Ambi found a leaflet with a list of all the upcoming events at Waterstones. Now we are all very regular customers at Waterstones and some of us are also part of their reviewer team at YABirmingham(Definitely go check them out, they are fabulous) and they had hinted that they were announcing three exciting new events tonight. We were all excited to find out what it was so when we found this leaflet we all started squealing slightly. The first exciting event was the launch party for Alice Oseman’s Solitaire(which I received this week from HarperCollins). We were all very excited because we all wanted to read Solitaire(I’m actually starting it today!) and had talked to Alice before on twitter and she was freaking amazing. The next event was a signing with the ever so amazing Lauren Oliver! I’m a big fan of Lauren Oliver and I love all of her books(well at least the ones I’ve read) and I’m so excited to meet her. If you’re interested click here to see my review of Panic and click here for my amazing friend Ambi’s review of Delirium. The final event on the leaflet was for their Maze Runner fan party! They had had three fan parties previously(City of Bones, Divergent and City of Heavenly Fire) and we were there on that night for their fourth one which was for The Fault In Our Stars. I would like to go to all their fan parties because I enjoy them all so much! We immediately bought tickets for all three events and went to eat, already buzzing with excitement.

We then went to the party and met some of our twitter friends(Zarin, Madi, Charli and Maryam)and formed the super TFIOS team quiz of “The Hectic Glow”. We all sat down to do the quiz which we were all excited about and wanted to win badly. We had allocated chapters to everyone and made sure that we all knew our trivia. We ended up getting 19 out of 20 and we were scared that someone would get full marks but we won! We honestly started screaming and jumping up and down a bit with excitement. We were so nervous we wouldn’t win because we all started arguing about the French of Hazel’s pipe t-shirt and what the correct grammar was but we didn’t need it and thanks to Priya, we got that question right. We won fabulous t-shirts, a poster SIGNED by John and Hank Green and various other little goodies. We then went downstairs and all of us were handed amazing goodie bags with 2 free books in them, including Will Grayson, Will Grayson! Next was the time for book browsing(as all books were on buy one,get one half price) and raffle ticket buying! At all of these events I had always spent around £7 on raffle tickets and never won. This time I told myself I wouldn’t spend that much but this time the raffle tickets were half the price so I still spent £7…. When it came to the raffle, my raffle tickets were picked out three times! I was so shocked but I had already got the prizes due to winning the quiz. Because of this, the kind worker took us to the cupboard and she let me pick out three books in exchange. I ended up getting Shattered, Code Name Verity and Popular. After that sadly the event was over but we were all so hyper.

Honestly, if you live in Birmingham you should definitely check these parties out as they are only £1 to get a ticket yet they are just so much fun!  At the first ever party, I just stood around and didn’t talk to anyone whereas at this one I talked to so many people and got to know everyone. Honestly, these parties have made me more confident as a person and I have YABirmingham to thank for that. Honestly thank you Gem and Bex and everyone who is involved in organising these events. If you are reading this, I want you to know how much these parties and your blog have changed me and made me a happier and confident person! I’m so happy that you’re getting people to realise that Birmingham is the second biggest city in the UK because we always get missed out! I’m so excited for the future now for YA and for Birmingham. Thank you. If you are interested in checking them out, click here to go their blog and here to go to their twitter.  Also click here to check out the details about the three upcoming events that they are having.

Thank you for reading,

Sofia.

This is all of us in the fabulous t-shirts that we won. Unfortunately, that's me being awkward and still being on the floor when they took the photo! Damn my short legs!!
This is all of us in the fabulous t-shirts that we won. Unfortunately, that’s me being awkward and still being on the floor when they took the photo! Damn my short legs!!
2 thoughts on “YABirmingham’s John Green Fanparty

Leave a Reply

