The Truth Is a Cave in the Black Mountains by Neil Gaiman

Today I am going to be reviewing a graphic novel! This is the first graphic novel that I’ve read and it was by none other than Mr Neil Gaiman. I have heard a lot about this author, yet I have never actually read any of his books. When I saw this on bookbridgr, I immediately requesting it just because it was by Neil Gaiman. A lot of people say that his writing is amazing but confusing and this was definitely clear. This will be a very short review because honestly, I don’t have much to say about it. This book is released on the 17th June.

I went into this book expecting it to be scary as the cover is quite scary. Honestly, I don’t do very well with scary things so I was a bit hesitant. However, it turned out to not be very scary and I very much enjoyed it. I went into this book not knowing what it’s about and I liked not knowing what it’s about. I suggest you do the same. The summary of the book itself is very vague, probably on purpose.

The storyline of this book was actually really interesting however because it was only a short story, I couldn’t bring myself to become very immersed into the book or care for any of the characters. It was just a really nice, slightly gruesome and freaky, short story that I did quite enjoy. The writing was beautiful and mesmerizing. Neil Gaiman definitely lived up to my high expectations of him.

The art of this was beautiful. The art is done by Eddie Campbell, who admittedly I had never heard of before. The art is freaky and scary but this went along with the story. At times, I found myself turning the page and not even going straight to the writing and just staring at the art for 10 minutes. It was so beautiful and striking. You couldn’t help not staring at it because it was so bold. Definitely loved the art.

Overall I would give this graphic novel/short story 3.5 stars because even though I enjoyed it, I couldn’t bring myself to love it. This is not due to the writing or the art, it was just simply because of the shortness of it. If it was longer, I’d love it. I will definitely be reading another Neil Gaiman book in the future. Go get this book when it’s published if you are a fan of Neil Gaiman, short stories and graphic novels.

Sofia

2 thoughts on “The Truth Is a Cave in the Black Mountains by Neil Gaiman

Leave a Reply

