The Geography of You and Me by Jennifer E.Smith

The Geography of You and MeHey!Today I’m going to review The Geography of You and Me by Jennifer E.Smith. This book hasn’t been published yet, it will be published on April 15th, but I requested this book has an e-arc on netgalley and when I got approved I was so excited. I’ve only read one of her books beforehand, This is What Happy Looks Like, but I loved that one and this one sounded so cute and lovely!

For those of you who don’t know, this book follows two main characters, Lucy and Owen, who on the night when New York loses its power they get stuck in an elevator together. Once they are rescued, they spend the rest of the night together but then the power goes back on and they go back to their own lives. Lucy moves to Edinburgh and Owen moves west with his father. Their relationship carries on through the sharing of postcards and emails, even though they are moving even further and further apart.

Now lets move on to my review:

I found Owen to be a believeable main character. Him and his father had gone through some troubles and they aren’t in the best financial situation and they were going through a lot of problems. Owen had a lot to deal with within himself and had to make tough decisions because of his situation but he was realistic. He was incredibly close to his father and they had a great family dynamic.

Lucy was the girl with a rich family who are incredibly busy. Even though they have all the money they could want and her parents travel a lot, they aren’t a close family. Her parents are hardly at home and Lucy obviously feels left out. Even thought Owen was more realistic, I related to Lucy a lot more because she loves to read and I felt like I could understand her more.

Their relationship was sweet and you can see that they care for each other. I liked the fact that they didn’t think they were in love with each other after the first night, they just couldn’t get the other off of their heads and that made it even more realistic. What I didn’t like with this book is the ending. I felt like it ended too abruptly and I would have liked to have seen more of the characters and their relationship.

Overall it was a very good book, it was just too short! My rating would be 4 out of 5. Definitely read this book if you enjoy contemporary.

One thought on “The Geography of You and Me by Jennifer E.Smith

Leave a Reply

