Dystopian Worlds:Delirium

Now, I have read quite a few dystopians in my life and honestly all of them take place in some pretty scary worlds! I thought I’d do a series on some of the scariest dystopian worlds and why they are so scary! I’m going to start with the Delirium world which was created by Lauren Oliver, because honestly it’s a unique world.

This world is based on the concept of love. The government in this series have convinced the civilians that love is bad and it’s a disease. They have made it so that once you turn 18, you get an injection to make you lose the ability to love. Now this stops all types of love;motherly love, sisterly love etc. It’s a crazy concept and honestly I don’t know how it would go down in the real world. If some world leader was to just declare love a bad thing, I don’t think everyone will just agree. This is show in the books through the resistance. But honestly in real life, I don’t see anyone agreeing. I would really like to see Lauren Oliver write a novel or series about how this came to be. How did anyone actually agree to that concept? All of the people I know would be part of the resistance, especially me because I can’t imagine living in a world where I can’t feel my mothers love. As described by Lena in the books, it was wrong to hug your children and sing and dance with them and most of my happy memories are with my mother. I can’t imagine not having those moments because honestly they were amazing parts of my life.

Also I don’t know how happy I’d be with the whole choosing your partner aspect of it. It’d just be hard because honestly you can’t know how well suited two people are just by looking at some common hobbies. I’m sure there are many guys out there who enjoy reading and watching TV but that doesn’t make us suited. I wouldn’t trust the government with my future because I could end up with someone who is just terrible but hides it(like Hana) or you could end up with someone who lied on the paper, because not every tells the truth. The idea that you get put with someone else really scares me.

Another thing I wouldn’t enjoy is being segregated from the opposite gender. Now I go to an all girls school, so I spend most of my time around girls but in primary school , some of my main friends were in fact guys. I’m not really sure how much I would enjoy being constantly around girls all the time because honestly girls can get very bitchy. I would end up being like Hana, rebelling and going to parties because honestly life in that world sucks. I would honestly want to know what it would be like to go to parties and listen to songs that were banned, because not everyone likes the same things.

Lauren Oliver wrote a beautiful series about a scary world that I could never imagine living in. In fact, I don’t think this will ever happen and I hope it doesn’t. Most dystopian worlds aren’t likely to ever happen and honestly I think the Delirium world is the world I’d hate the most. Most dystopian worlds involve a lot of fighting and hatred towards the government(as Delirium later develops into) but this one scares me because everyone just agrees with it and there isn’t much violence but the world still freaks the hell out of me.

2 thoughts on “Dystopian Worlds:Delirium

Leave a Reply

